Social Standards

The hessnatur manufacturing process sets the standard. For fair working conditions. Around the globe.

hessnatur is focused on sustainability and has implemented stringent guidelines from the outset. These permeate every area of the company and control the decisions made, every day. Fairness and transparency throughout the entire supply chain represent an understanding of values in the hessnatur fashion collections.

Social standards at a glance

 fwf_icon_schwarz_1 Employment is freely chosen   fwf_icon_schwarz_5 Payment of a living wage
 fwf_icon_schwarz_2 No discrimination in employment  fwf_icon_schwarz_6 No excessive working hours
 fwf_icon_schwarz_3 No exploitation of child labour  fwf_icon_schwarz_7 Safe and healthy working conditions
 fwf_icon_schwarz_4 Freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining A legally binding employment relationship

The Fair Wear Foundation (FWF)

The Fair Wear Foundation is an international, multi-stakeholder organisation based in the Netherlands. It has taken on responsibility for working together with its members and production companies to improve working conditions in the textile industry (clothes manufacturing). To this aim, the Fair Wear Foundation checks that brands are respecting human rights in their supplier chains, monitors the working conditions in clothing factories, offers complaint hotlines for workers in a number of production countries and ensures the cooperation of everyone concerned.


All member companies are committed to recognising the eight standards for fair working conditions and to continually improving conditions for workers in clothing factories.

fwflogo-fullcolour_print On its website the Fair Wear Foundation provides detailed reports on the eight core labour standards, any complaints made by workers, the current status of individual brands (member companies) and many other issues.

The social report produced once a year by all member companies provides an insight into their efforts with regard to implementing the standards at production sites.

The last two social reports from hessnatur are available here to download.

Download Social Report 2016 – EN20161110-hn-sozialbericht-titel-en
(PDF, 2,5 MB)
titel-sozialbericht-en-2013_2014Download Social Report 2015 – EN
(PDF, 2 MB)

Furthermore, the member companies are audited and assessed every year by the Fair Wear Foundation through the ‘Brand Performance Check’. During an on-site meeting, companies have to document their efforts towards ensuring transparency and sustainability and show how the social standards are being incorporated into their business procedure. The last two Brand Performance Checks carried out at hessnatur are available here. In the latest assessment, hessnatur was rated as a ‘Leader‘ (the highest possible category) – a result that confirms the company’s special commitment to making real improvements to working conditions.


Brand Performance Check 2015

titel-bpch-2013_2014
Download (PDF)

Brand Performance Check 2016

titel-bpch-2014_2015Download (PDF)

The collaboration between the Fair Wear Foundation and hessnatur

hessnatur was the first German company to become a member of the Fair Wear Foundation in 2005. Over the course of more than 10 years of membership, a monitoring system has been developed for recording and continually improving the social standards in clothing factories and this is now firmly established within the company. As a result, not only has much been achieved and many improvements made in the supplier companies, and in clothing factories in particular, but hessnatur has also critically evaluated its own procedures. This is a dynamic process in which many people are involved and in which changes have to be continually integrated and processes adapted in line with new requirements. True to our slogan ‘humanity in fashion’, the focus is on further continued implementation for the future.

Our collaboration with the FWF

The core elements of our work on social standards are the close collaboration between hessnatur and the Fair Wear Foundation, and the complaints system. This means:

  • hessnatur ensures the implementation and monitoring of social standards in sewing factories.
  • The Fair Wear Foundation checks the work of hessnatur and carries out audits and training at the production sites on behalf of hessnatur.
  • The neutral complaints office is the third important element. It gives workers security and the option of reporting shortcomings in the factorieeben hinzuweisen.

0916_kernelemente-des-monitoringsystems_180x120mm_final_eng

Working on the hessnatur social standards

The three-pillar model for social standards offers an insight into the various tasks and activities involved in our work. In this process, sharing information with our partners, suppliers and also other brands is just as important as on-site factory visits and implementing specific improvement measures at production sites. Only through teamwork can we get a little better every day. After all, ‘humanity in fashion’ will always be our aspiration.

0916_die-drei-saeulen_180x85mm_final_eng

Awareness programme

hessnatur has developed its own training for suppliers in order to support the implementation of the required standards and work together with its partners on continual improvement. The training content covers employment rights and human rights – as a special feature, it is not only aimed at the factory management, but also at the workers and middle management. In addition to raising awareness about their own individual rights, another important goal is to create a better mutual understanding and improved internal communication. The concept is an extension of the Workplace Education Programme offered by the Fair Wear Foundation and is implemented in countries in which the FWF programme is not available. Why is this type of concept important? Only through a separate concept, defined contents and processes can a consistently high standard be ensured in different countries.

See for yourself what our suppliers have to say about the training and what it offers them:

Management is much more aware of issues in the factory

 

Workers feel empowered to make decisions on their own

Soziale Standards

Der Herstellungsprozess von hessnatur setzt Zeichen. Für gerechte Arbeitsbedingungen. Weltweit.

hessnatur setzt auf Nachhaltigkeit und implementiert anspruchsvolle Richtlinien vom ersten Tag an. Diese durchdringen alle Unternehmensbereiche, sie steuern Entscheidungen. Jeden Tag. Fairness und Transparenz entlang der gesamten Lieferkette stehen für das Werte-Verständnis in den hessnatur Mode-Kollektionen.

Die Sozialstandards im Überblick

  Freie Arbeitswahl
Employment is freely chosen 
 fwf_icon_schwarz_5 Zahlung existenzsichernder Löhne
Payment of a living wage
  Keine Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz
No discrimination in employment
Angemessene Arbeitszeiten
No excessive working hours
 fwf_icon_schwarz_3 Keine Ausbeutung durch Kinderarbeit
No exploitation of child labour
 fwf_icon_schwarz_7 Sichere und gesundheitsverträgliche Arbeitsbedingungen
Safe and healthy working conditions
  Vereinigungsfreiheit und Recht auf Kollektivverhandlungen
Freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining
Ein rechtsverbindliches Arbeitsverhältnis
A legally binding employment relationship

Die Fair Wear Foundation (FWF)

Die Fair Wear Foundation ist eine internationale Multi-Stakeholder Organisation mit Sitz in den Niederlanden. Sie hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, zusammen mit den Mitglieds- und Produktionsunternehmen an der Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen in der Textilproduktion (Konfektion) zu arbeiten. Hier prüft die Fair Wear Foundation, ob Marken in ihren Zulieferketten die Menschrechte achten, sie prüft die Arbeitsbedingungen in Bekleidungsfabriken, bietet Beschwerde-Hotlines für Arbeiter in einer Reihe von Produktionsländern an und stellt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen Beteiligten sicher.

Alle Mitgliedsunternehmen verpflichten sich, die acht Standards für faire Arbeitsbedingungen anzuerkennen und die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Konfektionsbetrieben stetig zu verbessern.

fwflogo-fullcolour_print Auf ihrer Homepage berichtet die Fair Wear Foundation ausführlich über die acht Kernarbeitsnormen, eventuelle Beschwerden durch ArbeiterInnen, den Stand der Dinge bei den einzelnen Marken (Mitgliedsunternehmen) und viele weitere Themen.

 

Der Sozialbericht, der einmal im Jahr von allen Mitgliedsunternehmen verfasst wird, gibt Aufschluss über deren Arbeit an der Umsetzung der Standards in den Betrieben. Die letzten beiden Sozialberichte von hessnatur finden Sie hier zum Download.

20161110-hn-sozialbericht-titel-deDownload Sozialbericht 2016 – DE
(PDF, 2,5 MB)
titel-sozialbericht-en-2013_2014Download Sozialbericht 2015
(PDF, 2 MB)

Darüber hinaus werden die Mitgliedsunternehmen jährlich von der Fair Wear Foundation durch den sogenannten Brand Performance Check überprüft und bewertet. Bei einem Vor-Ort-Termin müssen Unternehmen ihre Anstrengungen für Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit dokumentieren und auf der Fachebene die Verankerung der Sozialstandards in den Unternehmensabläufen nachweisen. Die letzten zwei Brand Performance Checks von hessnatur finden Sie hier.

Brand Performance Check 2016
titel-bpch-2014_2015
herunterladen (PDF)
Brand Performance Check 2017

herunterladen (PDF)

 

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Fair Wear Foundation und hessnatur

Als erstes deutsches Unternehmen ist hessnatur im Jahr 2005 der Fair Wear Foundation beigetreten. Im Rahmen der jetzt zehnjährigen Mitgliedschaft wurde ein Monitoringsystem für die Erfassung und kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Sozialstandards in den Konfektionsbetrieben entwickelt und im Unternehmen verankert. Dadurch wurde nicht nur in den Zulieferbetrieben, vor allem in der Konfektion, vieles erreicht und Verbesserungen erzielt, sondern hessnatur hat auch die eigenen Prozesse kritisch unter die Lupe genommen. Es ist ein dynamischer Prozess, in den viele Menschen involviert sind, stetig Veränderungen integriert und Prozesse an neue Anforderungen angepasst werden müssen. Getreu unserem Motto ‚humanity in fashion‘ steht eine weitere und fortlaufende Implementierung für die Zukunft im Fokus.

Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit FWF

Die Kernelemente unserer Arbeit an Sozialstandards sind die enge Zusammenarbeit von hessnatur und der Fair Wear Foundation sowie das Beschwerde-System. Das bedeutet:

  • hessnatur sorgt für die Umsetzung und Kontrolle der Sozialstandards in den Nähereien.
  • Die Fair Wear Foundation prüft die Arbeit von hessnatur und führt im Auftrag von hessnatur Audits und Trainings in den Produktionsstätten durch.
  • Die neutrale Beschwerdestelle ist das dritte wichtige Element. Sie gibt ArbeiternInnen Sicherheit und die Möglichkeit auf Missstände in Betrieben hinzuweisen.

0916_kernelemente-des-monitoringsystems_180x120mm_final

Die Arbeit an den hessnatur Sozialstandards

Das 3-Säulen-Modell Sozialstandards gibt Einblick in die vielfältigen Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten unserer Arbeit. Dabei ist der Austausch mit unseren Partnern, Lieferanten und auch anderen Marken genauso wichtig wie Betriebsbesuche vor Ort und die Umsetzung von konkreten Verbesserungsmaßnahmen in den Betrieben. Nur durch das Zusammenspiel können wir jeden Tag ein bisschen besser werden, denn ‚humanity in fashion‘ wird immer unser Anspruch sein.

0916_die-drei-saeulen_180x85mm_final_rgb

Awareness-Programme

hessnatur hat ein eigenes Training für Lieferanten entwickelt, um die Umsetzung der geforderten Standards zu unterstützen und gemeinsam mit den Partnern an der stetigen Verbesserung zu arbeiten! In dem Training geht es um Arbeits- und Menschenrechte – das Besondere, es richtet sich nicht nur an das Management der Betriebe, sondern auch an die ArbeiterInnen und das Mittelmanagement. Ein wichtiges Ziel neben der Sensibilisierung für die eigenen Rechte ist auch das Verständnis füreinander und eine verbesserte interne Kommunikation. Das Konzept ist eine Ergänzung zu dem von der Fair Wear Foundation angebotenen Workplace Education Programme und wird in Ländern umgesetzt, in denen das Programm der FWF nicht angeboten wird. Warum ist ein solches Konzept wichtig? Nur mit einem eigenen Konzept, festgelegten Inhalten und Abläufen kann ein einheitlicher hoher Standard in unterschiedlichen Ländern sichergestellt werden.

Was unsere Lieferanten zu den Trainings sagen und was es Ihnen bringt? Sehen Sie selbst:

Kommunikation ist der Schlüssel

ArbeiterInnen fühlen sich befähigt Entscheidungen zu treffen und haben eine Stimme