How a garment is made

Good shirts come to those who wait

Before a garment can grace the body, it has to undergo a long journey and many tests. Below are the key steps throughout the entire process from fabric through to T-shirt.

Cultivation – responsible from the very start

Our story begins a few thousand kilometres from our company headquarters – in the sunny regions around the equator. This is where the organic cotton for our T-shirt grows. Even the seed originates from controlled organic farming in which natural fertilisers and defoliants are used, along with natural pest control. Maintaining social structures also plays an important role. Unfortunately, not all producers act in accordance with these principles. Every day 77 people die around the world as the result of the use of insecticides and pesticides in conventional cotton production. According to WHO estimates, 550 million people are exposed to pesticides in the production of cotton in developing countries.

Yarn – our thread is fine and fair

A good T-shirt can only be made from good yarn. That’s why, in our spinning and weaving processes, we use oils and strengthening agents based on renewable raw materials, such as starch or paraffin, and avoid heavy metals completely. The organic production of yarn at hessnatur is also subject to stringent labour regulations in order to protect the health of our employees.

Fabric – clean materials for a cleaner future

The T-shirt is starting to take shape. The hessnatur guidelines also apply to the organic processing of the yarns to make fabric: unlike in conventional production, we use organic, fully biodegradable agents that are not harmful to the environment. In addition, any waste water is treated in at least a two-stage waste water treatment plant to ensure that it is clean before being fed back into the water system.

Finish – ideal for the skin

Our T-shirt can now be worn. When processing fabrics, we only use oxygen to bleach the cloth, dyes that do not contain heavy metals and water-based printing. We enhance the natural properties of the material using calenders (which make the surface smoother and more compact) and sanforization (a method that prevents subsequent shrinking). Now the textiles can be placed in direct contact with the skin without any problem. Things look very different in the conventional process. Bleaching using chlorine-based agents, the use of dyes containing heavy metals and printing with pastes that contain solvents and formaldehyde destroy the natural properties of the fibres. About 10 to 15 per cent of this chemical cocktail is retained in the textiles and subsequently comes into contact with the skin. For sensitive people, this can cause allergies or irritation.

Manufacturing – precise and detailed work

Now the most labour intensive phase of the textile production begins: with great skill and craftsmanship, the fabric knitted from organic cotton is stitched to make T-shirts in various sizes. As this step is associated with high time and cost pressure, statutory regulations are ignored at many production sites resulting in catastrophic working conditions. In order to ensure a fair working environment, we work together closely with our suppliers and set strict guidelines and standards for this collaboration. Due to our wish to improve social standards around the world, we have been an active partner within the international Fair Wear Foundation for more than 10 years now.

Shipping – short and professional

Our T-shirt has almost reached its destination. It just has to be transported from A to B. We like to keep our shipping routes short and our packaging environmentally friendly. That’s also why most of our production facilities at hessnatur are in Europe. After all, fewer kilometres means greater sustainability.

Der Weg eines T-Shirts

Was lange währt, wird endlich Shirt

Bevor ein Kleidungsstück den Körper ziert, hat es eine lange Reise und viele Prüfungen hinter sich. Hier die wichtigsten Stationen auf dem Weg vom Stoff zum T-Shirt.

Der Anbau – Verantwortung von Anfang an

Unsere Geschichte beginnt ein paar Tausend Kilometer von unserem Firmensitz entfernt – in den sonnenreichen Regionen am Äquator. Dort reift die Bio-Baumwolle für unser T-Shirt. Schon das Saatgut stammt aus kontrolliert biologischem Anbau, bei dem natürliche Dünger- und Entlaubungsmittel sowie natürliche Schädlingsbekämpfer zum Einsatz kommen. Ebenso spielt die Erhaltung der Sozialstrukturen eine wichtige Rolle. Leider handeln noch nicht alle Hersteller nach diesem Anbauprinzip. So sterben weltweit täglich 77 Menschen an den Folgen des Insektizid- und Pestizideinsatzes in der konventionellen Baumwollproduktion. Nach WHO-Schätzungen sind in Entwicklungsländern 550 Millionen Menschen Schädlingsbekämpfungsmitteln in der Baumwollproduktion ausgesetzt.

Das Garn – ein feiner und fairer Faden

Nur aus einem guten Garn kann ein gutes T-Shirt werden. Deshalb verwenden wir beim Spinnen und Weben Öle und Schlichtemittel auf Basis nachwachsender Rohstoffe, wie etwa Stärke oder Paraffine, und verzichten auf Schwermetalle. In der ökologischen Garnherstellung von hessnatur gelten zudem strenge Arbeitsrechtsnormen, um die Gesundheit unserer Mitarbeiter zu schützen.

Der Stoff – saubere Sache(n)

Das T-Shirt nimmt Gestalt an. Bei der ökologischen Verarbeitung der Garne zum Stoff gelten ebenfalls die hessnatur-Richtlinien: Wir verwenden im Gegensatz zur konventionellen Produktion biologisch voll abbaubare Hilfsmittel, die die Umwelt nicht belasten. Darüber hinaus durchläuft jedes Abwasser eine mindestens zweistufige Kläranlage, um wieder sauber in den Kreislauf zurückgeführt werden zu können.

Die Veredelung – ausgerüstet für die Haut

Unser T-Shirt wird tragbar. Bei der Verarbeitung der Stoffe bleichen wir das Gewebe ausschließlich mit Sauerstoff und färben ohne schwermetallhaltige Farbstoffe oder drucken auf Wasserbasis. Die Eigenschaften des Stoffes optimieren wir durch Kalandern (dabei wird die Oberfläche geglättet und verdichtet) und Krumpfen (Methode, die ein nachträgliches Eingehen verhindert). Jetzt sind die Textilien problemlos direkt auf der Haut zu tragen. Anders sieht es bei herkömmlichen Verfahren aus. Beim Bleichen mit chlorhaltigen Mitteln, Färben mit Schwermetallen oder Drucken mit Pasten, die Lösungsmittel und Formaldehyd enthalten, werden die natürlichen Eigenschaften der Fasern zerstört. Zehn bis 15 Prozent dieses Chemiecocktails bleiben in den Textilien zurück und kommen mit der Haut in Kontakt. Bei empfindlichen Menschen kann das Allergien oder Reizungen auslösen.

Die Konfektion – präzise Feinarbeit

Nun beginnt die arbeitsintensivste Phase in der Textilproduktion: Mit viel Geschick und Handarbeit wird der aus Bio-Baumwolle gewebte Stoff zu verschieden großen T-Shirts genäht. Weil dieser Schritt mit viel Zeit- und Kostendruck verbunden ist, herrschen in vielen Produktionsstätten unter Missachtung gesetzlicher Bestimmungen katastrophale Zustände. Um faire Arbeitsbedingungen zu garantieren, stehen wir im engen Austausch mit unseren Lieferanten und haben strenge Richtlinien sowie Standards für die Zusammenarbeit definiert. Weil wir die sozialen Verhältnisse weltweit verbessern möchten, sind wir schon mehr als zehn Jahre aktive Partner der internationalen Fair Wear Foundation.

Der Transport – kurz und gut

Unser T-Shirt ist fast am Ziel angekommen. Es muss nur noch von A nach B transportiert werden. Dabei achten wir auf kurze Wege und umweltfreundliche Verpackungen. Auch deshalb liegen die Produktionsschwerpunkte von hessnatur in Europa. Denn weniger Kilometer bedeuten mehr Nachhaltigkeit.